A happy Doodle is a Messy Doodle!

Am trying a different font, please tell me if you like it better or worse Smile AND I have finally managed to download Windows Live writer so hopefully will be able to do more to my blog yay!

As the title suggests I am now starting to relax a bit more and I am not on his tail 24/7. I have allowed him to play in the garden without me going out every single time but after a few minutes of him being quiet I shout him in. 95% of the time he comes straight away and he gets a treat and I then allow him back out. I have to shout ‘wassis’ and he knows something yummy is heading his way. We do the same in the park. He comes back to us and sits and gets a treat. Only this morning he has become more brave and went storming off to meet the other dogs in the park without a second glance to me! He soon changed his mind when he went up to a Japanese Akita which wasn’t very friendly and snapped at him. Luckily the dog was on a lead and Scooter came running back to me.

weeding doodleWe have had a busy weekend doing the gardening front and back (with his help of course) making the most of our September sun. I did make the novice mistake of bathing him this morning first! Will not be doing that again. According to my www.doodlemania.co.uk friends a common trait of a doodle is their ability to stay dirty no matter how hard you try and keep them clean. Their motto is ‘A happy Doodle is a messy Doodle’ I keep having to clean his ‘beard’ although I tend to call it a goatie as it’s not quite a fully grown beard just yet.

IMG_0013As I said I bathed him for the first time yesterday and he was better than I thought he was going to be in the bath. He did of course try and get out but I kept massaging his coat and he did settle down. As his face is still quite small it was bit difficult to clean it all properly so I am going to have to get a small soft sponge and also a small soft brush for his paws.  I did have some pet scissors and I have managed to cut some of the hair in front of his eyes. I have also bought some nail files and we did try and file his nails (between me and my daughter) but he was having none of it. We will try again when he is really tired and hungry and he will be more interested in the treat than what we are doing.

I am so desperate to be able to take him on longer walks. He really does want to be out at the park all the time. BUT I am being good and he has 2 quick 10 minute walks a day. I take the children to school and then come back and take him over to the park. I am quite lucky that it is literally behind the houses over the road. I take him different ways so he is not sure which way we are going. He has become clever in knowing the places we walk and pulls to go there. I have tried the stopping technique and waiting for him to come back to my side but he just sits (he knows when I stop by the road that he has to sit so every time I stop he thinks the same and I cant fault him for that!) So I am going to try the swapping direction technique. My 9 year old son did it yesterday and we did look daft walking backwards and forwards down our street but I know it will take a week or so before he gets it as he can be quite stubborn with things he wants.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. meerkaythenerd
    Sep 09, 2012 @ 13:53:58

    It’s bad enough trying to keep a Black Doodle clean! But that wee face, you can’t be mad at him lol
    Oh and I definitely think the other font was better, easier to read xox

    Reply

Leave a Reply

