Who’s counting the days??

I know I have not posted for a long time but life does get in the way. I have written this blog so that family and friends can have a look and see how our puppy is doing and it saves me showing  photos all over the place. And also for me to look back in time and see our little pup as he grows up.

I DID actually do a long post a couple of days ago but then when I went to post it from Zoundery Raven  it came up with an error when posting it to my blog and I lost the whole lot! I was very disheartened and to be frank angry and too tired to do it all again that I just gave up. So here I am again with a backup plan of copying it onto something else before I post it on and hopefully as you are reading this, it has worked!

Well Scooter has had a lot of stuff going on in  the past week or so. He was the bouncy hypo maniac at the puppy class registration. He was the youngest there to be fair so I will let him off slightly but he just had so much energy and he wanted all the other ‘placid’ pups to get up and play. Their owners had other ideas though and kept giving my pup the ‘go away’ stare. Oh these classes are going to be fun. We are booked in for October 15th. Scooter will be 4 months old. Some of the others were already 5/6 months so they have waited a little while to do this. I on the other hand wanted to install this as early as possible in the hope I get some more control over my fluff ball. One thing the lady did say to me about his nipping is to put my whole hand in his mouth when he does it and this should stop him as they don’t like that so I have been doing this. The jury is still out on that one.

He is a bouncing bundle of fun. He seems to jump around at everything. I am trying to stop him jumping as it can’t be good for his growing bones. There is one thing we have 95% conquered and that is that he waits on his towel while we get his food ready and he does not move to get it until I give the order to do so. I am amazed at this but I am proud of him, he realises that he doesn’t get his food unless he stays until permission given.

As we are now taking him for very short walks around the block we are trying to get him to walk without pulling. This is going to be tough I think. He thinks that when I stop because he is pulling that he has to sit as this is what we do when we get to a kerb. So that is what he does. He hasn’t figured out that he needs to come back to my side without me pulling him there but then as soon as we start he pulls again. This is going to be a long lesson. I did let him off the lead at the park with some caution but as he is only young he doesn’t stray too far from us. This will all change I know when he comes into adolescence! Just like my teenage son he will not listen to anything I say. That will be the hard tasks of puppyhood. The kids absolutely love that he can go off the lead and have some freedom. It is nice and he does meet other dogs and play. so it’s all good experience so far. He has actually met a sproodle (a Springer spaniel X poodle) called Basil who lives round the corner. The last time I saw him he was smaller than Scooter and now he is up to my waste almost and is more bouncy than Scooter believe it or not. I have the wet paw prints on my jeans to prove it!

One of the best things of owning Scooter, apart from his company in the evening when the children go to bed, is when he comes and sleeps by or on my feet. He is so warm and it’s a lovely feeling that he wants to be close to you.

Another change is that the children are now back at school and I am back at work. My neighbour has kindly offered to come and let him out into the garden for a while and they play with him inside. He was a bit unsure of them at first and he did wee in his cage. probably in anxiety, but after a while he was fine with them (I am told). when they came round later on that day he was very excited to see them so it should all be ok.

It is almost time for me to go to bed right now and Scooter soon tells me when it gets too late as he gets up and goes into his bed all by himself. It is so funny but lovely to see that he is sees that as his space.

Leave a Reply

